Catalogue :: Black Dyke Band Sextet Collection

Brass Triumphant
Gareth Wood
£ 34.95
Buy item
Difficulty Level
Brass Sextet

Brass Triumphant is a four-movement work and was composed for the Cory Band during their 125th anniversary year of 2009.

The first movement is a celebratory fanfare featuring a strong melody as the thread, which runs throughout the whole work. The second movement is powerful in nature and reflects struggle and endeavour. The third movement is a beautiful slow melodic poem subtitled ‘Mist of the Forest'. A melody carried by the Euphonium honours the great Welsh folk melodies we all know and love. The lollipop finale is a rollercoaster ride, taking us to the very edge of band technique. The hymn tune ‘O Iesu Mawr' appears though heavily disguised and is a reminder of the composer's Welsh Heritage.

The Cory Band under Dr. Robert Childs gave the World premiere of this work at the World Music Contest Gala Concert in Kerkrade, Netherlands July 2009. It later received its British premiere during the September of the same year in Birmingham's Symphony Hall, again performed by the Cory Band under the direction of Robert Childs.

This abridged version for brass sextet was commissioned by Black Dyke Band as part of the Arts Council Recovery Grant, and edited by Robert Childs.

Featured On